Signature Events

Women's Committee Presents: Roberta Hughes Wright Memorial Golf Classic

Friday, July 29, 2022 from 7:00am - 3:00pm

Join us Friday, July 29, at the Glen Oaks Golf Course in Farmington Hills for the Roberta Hughes Wright Memorial Golf Classic! This fun-filled day of golf, food, and a silent auction has something to offer both golfers and non-golfers alike.

To help make this incredible day possible, The Wright has partnered with Detroit Memorial Park. Proceeds will provide operating support and funding for children’s educational programs at The Wright.

Register here

NOTE: Registration includes a membership to the Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History. If you already have a membership to The Wright, then the cost will be deferred to advance students in the Midnight Golf Program.


7:00 am - Registration

8:00 am - Shotgun Start/Scramble

11:00 am - Non-Golfers Arrive

Golf Classic History

The establishment of the Roberta Hughes Wright Golf Classic amplifies the Women's Committee's efforts. The goal is to make this an event for years to come, anticipated by golfers from the Michigan region, as well as golfers from around the United States.

In 2019, author, educator, and Women's Committee champion Dr. Roberta Hughes Wright passed away at the age of 96. Because of her dedication to the success of the Women's Committee, the name of the event, which had already been named in honor of Dr. Hughes Wright, was changed to reflect her memory.

Golfers Schedule
  • Green Fees
  • Cart
  • Continental Breakfast
  • Lunch on the Turn
  • Award Buffet
  • Golfer Gifts and Goodie Bags
Non-Golfers Schedule
  • 11:00 am - Arrival Time
  • Goodie Bags
  • Award Buffet
  • Games and Prizes
Costs & Additional Details
  • $175 golfers; $680 foursome; $75 non-golfers
  • Individual golfers will be assigned a foursome
  • Silent auction winners announced during awards program
  • Golfers need not be present to accept their award
2022 Golf Classic Leadership

2022 Chairperson: Doreen M. Odom
2022 Co-Chairperson: Shirley Burke
2022 Honorary Chairs: Roderick D. & Linda Gillum, Wilbur Hughes, Barbara K. Smith, Rochelle Riley, and Anika & Toby Odegbo